Moving is a tool typically used when an article's title does not comply with the Manual of Style or does not match the page's content.
When to move an article
An article should be moved if:
- A typo was made in the creation of an article.
- The article is in the wrong namespace.
- A draft from the userspace has been completed and needs to be moved to the proper namespace.
- A user wishes to move a page within their own userspace.
- Consensus has been reached in favor of a move for any other reason on the article's talk page. Note that all moves not described above require consensus.
What to do after a move
After a move, it is important to visit both the original page and the new page to make corrections based on the move.
Changes to the original page
When a page is moved, a redirect is automatically left behind, pointing to the new page. If the original page has redirects, this will create double redirects: a redirect to a redirect. To solve this, redirects to the original page need to be pointed to the new page.
It may be the case that a redirect does not need to be left behind. This may occur if the article's original title is inappropriate or if the redirect would be unuseful. In this case, a speedy delete tag should be placed on the redirect, and all pages that redirect or link to that page will need pointed to the new page. Primarily, the user who originally moved the page is responsible for this. Also note that admins can move an article without leaving a redirect, in which case they are responsible for any links to the original page.
Changes to the new page
The page should be checked for any incorrect formatting and information (such as article icons and the bolded title reference in the opening paragraph).