Erase Data, or Backup Clear in Super Smash Bros., is an option appearing in all three installments of the Super Smash Bros. games. It allows the player to erase specific data in the game such as high scores, trophies, and more. In all three installments, the option to erase only one category of data is available; including an "Erase all" function.
Once the player erases data, there is no way to recover it. As such, a Super Smash Bros. Melee player is advised to take a copy of the game data on a separate memory card before performing this procedure - this isn't possible in SSB or Super Smash Bros. Brawl, as the game data is saved on the game pak for SSB and the game data cannot be copied in Brawl.